Settlement Management Plan

Baw Baw Shire is growing fast, with the population increasing by 5,806 to 42,864 between the 2006 and 2011 Census. This is an annual growth rate of 2.94 per cent. It is expected Baw Baw Shire will have 71,683 residents by 2036.

The Baw Baw Settlement Management Plan provides a framework for accommodating population growth while preserving the existing character of the municipality.

The following Baw Baw towns and settlements are considered and recommendations are made for the future:

  • Buln Buln
  • Darnum
  • Drouin
  • Erica
  • Jindivick
  • Longwarry
  • Neerim and Neerim Junction
  • Neerim South
  • Nilma
  • Noojee
  • Rawson
  • Rokeby
  • Tanjil Bren
  • Thorpdale
  • Trafalgar
  • Walhalla
  • Warragul
  • Willow Grove
  • Yarragon

The plan was adopted at the Council Meeting on 28 August 2013 and the Baw Baw Planning Scheme updated on 27 November 2014. Council are currently implementing the plan.

To view a hardcopy of the plan, visit any of our Customer Service Centres.

For more information, email the Project Officer or call 5624 2411.