Mayor and Councillors


Want to find out which Councillors represent your ward? Use this interactive map and enter your address. 

As a result of the recent Electoral Representation Review, Baw Baw Shire is now divided into three wards; including the West Ward, Central Ward, and East Ward. There are three Councillors elected in each ward, making a total of nine Councillors.

For information about the 2020 Council Elections, go to Council Elections

Councillors are elected to lead and represent the whole community. As your local elected representative, they advocate on behalf of residents and work to assist them. As members of Council, individual Councillors have responsibilities to other Councillors and the community.

Councillors responsibilities include approving the Council Plan and Council Budget. They have a responsibility, as stewards of community resources, to manage the Council's assets, provide a wide range of services and facilities, and ensure finances are allocated in the best interests of the whole community.

The 2016-2020 Council was sworn in at a Statutory Council Meeting on Wednesday 2 November 2016. The Councillor Code of Conduct(PDF, 536KB)  was reviewed and adopted with each individual Councillor declaring to abide by the Code of Conduct at Councils Special Council Meeting on Wednesday 22 February 2017 in line with provisions outlined in the Local Government Act 1989.

2019/20 Mayor and Deputy Mayor

Baw Baw Shire Council appointed the Mayor and Deputy Mayor at a Statutory Council Meeting on Wednesday 20 November 2019.

Mayor: Councillor Danny Goss
Deputy Mayor: Councillor Peter Kostos