Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame

Located in Civic Park, Warragul, the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame was created in 1999 in recognition of our region's champion athletes.


There are currently 18 athletes from the Baw Baw Shire that have been inducted into the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame, they are:

Athlete  Sport Participated In Year Inducted
 Kathy Watt Cycling 2000
Lionel Rose Boxing 2000 
Gary Ablett (Senior) Australian Rules Football 2000 
Peter Bartels  Cycling 2000 
Tim Forsyth  High jump 2000
Barry Round Australian Rules Football 2003 
Gary Ayers  Australian Rules Football 2003
Michael Scandolera Badminton  2003
Mark Ridgeway  Cricket 2003
Peter Knights Australian Rules Football  2006 
Jodi Quinlan  Harness Racing  2006 
Jason Bright   Motorsport  2006 
Alan Noonan  Australian Rules Football  2006 
Marisa Yeaman  Speed Roller Skating  2008 
Harley Watts  Croquet  2008 
Paul Maisey  Softball 2008 
Les Griggs  Australian Rules Football 2008 
Jayden Warn  Wheelchair Rugby 2017 
Michael Keane Judo


Jason Bargwanna Motorsport 2020
Lichelle Clark   Swimming 2022
Tania McLeish Underwater Hockey  2022
Anne Skinner Equestrian 2022
Belinda Watts-Keeley   Underwater Hockey  2022


Located in Civic Park, Warragul, the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame was created in 1999 after a community committee was developed by then Baw Baw Shire Council Recreation Officer, the late Mike Goyne.

The committee’s objective was to look at a way to turn the 2000 Sydney Olympic Torch relay stop in the region into a significant event. Linking the Olympics with their interest in the ongoing recognition of the Baw Baw Shire’s champion athletes, the committee created the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame.

After creating a series of guidelines, the committee began reviewing nominated athletes and on 9 August 2000, the anniversary of the Olympic Torch visit, Council formally launched the Sporting Walk of Fame with the induction of 5 local athletes.

Following the first inductions, the committee began seeking nominations from the public utilising the guidelines they created. Between 2001 and 2008 the committee inducted another 12 athletes, with all inductees having a commemorative plaque installed along the pathway in Civic Park, Warragul. There would be no inductees for the next 9 years.

Following a petition presented to Council in 2016 the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame had another athlete inducted; until 2019, this was the last inductee.

On 9 October 2019, Council formally took on the responsibility of deciding the result of an athlete’s nomination and induction into the Baw Baw Shire Sporting Walk of Fame.

Guidelines for Nomination

To ensure that only the most deserving athletes are inducted into the Sporting Walk of Fame, the following guidelines have been developed to assist in the review of nominations:

  • Athletes awards are for significant and sustained performance at a very high level in open competition.
  • Athletes performances will usually be at a national or international level in unrestrictedcompetition in sports of significance.
  • Performances in team activity must be able to indicate that the performance or performances of the nominee were significant rather than merely as a member of a high-level team.
  • In special cases, a successful state level athlete may warrant the inclusion of a person wheret he performance was of significance.
  • Performances in areas of a limited field of endeavour will generally be given careful consideration before being included in awards.
  • Inductees are generally expected to be of good character.
  • Residential qualifications are flexible. However, an individual who is acknowledged with this prestigious award will generally be a person who resided in the Shire for a significant period of their life and started on the path of sporting success whilst a Shire resident.

To make a nomination, please download and complete the nomination form.(PDF, 1MB)