Baw Baw Shire Council elect Mayor and Deputy Mayor for 2022 term

Published on 17 November 2021

Baw Baw Shire Council is pleased to announce Cr Michael Leaney has been elected as Mayor and Cr Annemarie McCabe has been elected as Deputy Mayor following the statutory meeting held on Wednesday evening.

In accordance with the Local Government Act 2020, Councillors put forward nominations for the position of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Cr Leaney was nominated for Mayor by Cr Tricia Jones with the motion seconded by Cr Keith Cook.

Cr McCabe was nominated for Deputy Mayor by Cr Jazmin Tauru with the motion seconded by Cr Keith Cook.

All nominations were unanimously supported by Councillors in the chamber though a vote by a show of hands.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor will serve a 1-year term in these roles until November 2022.

Quote attributable to Mayor Cr Michael Leaney

“I’d like to thank my fellow councillors for the faith they’ve put in me for this important role. 

We have a great team here. A team that works cooperatively and one that is totally committed to making things happen for the greater good of our community. 

We also have a wonderful team of officers, an excellent CEO, but most importantly we have an amazing community. 

No matter what part of the Shire you call home – whether it’s in our major growth areas or our rural and remote areas – we have a vibrant community here in Baw Baw Shire. I will work as hard as I can to deliver the results that our whole community desperately requires.

We are the fastest growing regional area in Victoria. 

So many people are moving here because they think it’s fabulous - and it is fabulous - but we need new infrastructure and government funding support to cope with our growing population. 

We need major arterial road improvements. We need community infrastructure improvements.  We need healthcare improvements.

Over the next year, I’m going to make getting the assistance we need a key priority. I’m going to call on the Federal Government and the State Government to let them know clearly what we need for our growing municipality. I see both Canberra and Spring Street as being  our partners to provide the infrastructure and facilities that the Baw Baw Shire community needs and deserves.”

Quote attributable to Deputy Mayor Cr Annemarie McCabe

"It is an honour to be elected Deputy Mayor and I thank my fellow Councillors for their support and trust in this role.

Baw Baw Shire has so much promise. It is a beautiful place to live and it has so much to offer.

But the pace of growth is posing real challenges: Development challenges, healthcare challenges and infrastructure challenges.

This Council is committed to addressing those challenges and I’m committed to tackling those challenges as Deputy Mayor.

I look forward to working closely with Mayor Leaney and my fellow Councillors to provide leadership, to advocate strongly on our region’s behalf, and to deliver the outcomes our residents deserve.” 

Quote attributable to outgoing Mayor Cr Danny Goss

“I would like to thank my fellow Councillors, the CEO, the Executive Team and Council officers for their fantastic support over the last two years.

Together we’ve accomplished a lot. I leave as Mayor knowing that together we’ve helped to put Baw Baw Shire on the State and Federal Government agenda and we’ve delivered so many key projects and improvements on behalf our community.

Yes, there’s more to be done, and I’ll be here to help drive those efforts in support of Mayor Leaney and Deputy Mayor McCabe as they lead our ongoing efforts as a Council.

It has been a true privilege to serve as your Mayor for the past two years, and I thank you all for your support. It has meant a lot to me and to my family.

I look forward to what this Council will accomplish in the next year and in the years to come.” 

Mayor Election_web-resize.jpg  

Baw Baw Shire Deputy Mayor Cr Annemarie McCabe, Mayor Cr Michael Leaney and CEO Mark Dupe.

Tagged as: