Primary and Secondary Schools


Within the Baw Baw Shire there are 25 Government primary schools and four Government high schools. In addition, there are seven private primary and four private high schools in the shire.

Situation Analysis

Baw Baw Shire is experiencing rapid population growth, particularly with young families. Government schools in the growth towns of Drouin and Warragul are nearing capacity.

Presently kindergartens in the shire are exceeding capacity and this trend will flow onto school age children. The issue is compounded by residential developments in both Drouin and Warragul where it’s expected thousands of school agedchildren will move to the area in the coming years.

In Precinct Structure Plans (PSPs) for Councils growth areas, the Victorian Planning Authority has identified sites for more Government schools.

What is Needed?

Council calls on the State Government to invest in new primary and secondary schools within the Baw Baw Shire to ensure that existing schools are not put under further pressure and future growth is adequately planned.

Council recommends that new schools be constructed on the sites identified in the PSPs.