Australia Day Awards

Nominations for Australia Day Awards 2018 are now closed.

The Baw Baw Shire Council Australia Day Awards 2018 honour Baw Baw Shire citizens who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year and/or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years.

Award categories include:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Australia Day Medallion
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Community Contribution - Sporting Achievement
  • Community Contribution - Environmental Achievement
  • Community Contribution - Cultural Achievement

The annual Baw Baw Shire Australia Day Awards ceremony will be held from 6.00pm on Thursday 25 January 2018 at the Warragul Country Club. Limited seating is available, call Council on 5624 2411 to reserve your seat.

Australia Day Award Winners 2017

Congratulations to all the Baw Baw Shire Australia Day Award recipients for 2017!

  • Citizen of the Year - Les Matkovich
  • Australia Day Medallions - Christina Williams and Shirley Westerberg
  • Community Contribution Cultural Achievement - Olivia's Place
  • Community Contribution Sporting Achievement - Warragul Parkrun

Baw Baw Shire Council would also like to sincerely thank each of the individuals and groups who dedicate their time to organise Australia Day events across the Shire each year.